How to enter Indonesia

Indonesia

Indonesia is well connected to the rest of the world by numerous airlines. Many international flights, especially those to Bali, stop first in Singapore due to runway restrictions at Bali.

Airports & Airlines
The principal gateways for entry to Indonesia are Jakarta’s Soekarno-Hatta International Airport and Bali’s Ngurah Rai International Airport (which is sometimes shown as Denpasar in schedules).

Both are in the midst of expansion and projects. Other airports with international links – albeit limited – include Balikpapan, Medan, Surabaya, Lombok and Manado.

Multiple international airlines service Indonesia.

Air New Zealand (www.airnewzealand.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Australia and New Zealand.

AirAsia (www.airasia.com) Serves a wide range of Indonesian destinations from Australia, Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok and Singapore.

Asiana (flyasiana.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Seoul.

Cathay Pacific Airways (www.cathaypacific.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Hong Kong.

China Airlines (www.china-airlines.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Taipei.

Emirates (www.emirates.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Dubai.

Eva Air (www.evaair.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Taipei.

Firefly (www.fireflyz.com.my) Serves major cities on Sumatra from Kuala Lumpur and Penang in Malaysia.

Garuda Indonesia (www.garuda-indonesia.com) Indonesia’s main national airline serves Bali and Jakarta from Australia, Asia and Amsterdam.

Japan Airlines (www.jal.co.jp) Serves Jakarta from Tokyo.

Jetstar/Qantas (www.qantas.com.au) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Australia.

KLM (www.klm.com) Serves Jakarta and Bali from Amsterdam via Singapore.

Korean Air (www.koreanair.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Seoul.

Lion Air (www.lionair.co.id) Rapidly expanding carrier with services across Indonesia and the region. Wings Air is its regional subsidiary.

Lufthansa (www.lufthansa.com) Serves Jakarta from Frankfurt.

Malaysia Airlines (www.mas.com.my) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Kuala Lumpur.

Qatar Airways (www.qatarairways.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Doha.

Silk Air (www.silkair.com) Serves numerous Indonesian destinations from Singapore including Bandung, Balikpapan, Lombok, Manado, Medan, Palembang, Pekanbaru, Surabaya and Yogyakarta.

Singapore Airlines (www.singaporeair.com) Numerous flights to Bali and Jakarta daily.

Sriwijaya Air (www.sriwijayaair.co.id) Expanding airline with routes to Malaysia, Singapore and Timor-Leste.

Thai Airways International (www.thaiair.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta from Bangkok.

Tiger Airways (www.tigerairways.com) Budget carrier serving Bali, Jakarta and Surabaya from Australia and Singapore.

Virgin Australia (www.virginaustralia.com) Serves Bali from several Australian cities.